Tuesday, July 3, 2007

Hasta la Vista

Heh -- clever title, huh? Bet it's only been used about a gajillion times before.

Microsoft Watch - Vista - It's Not Ultimate Enough

I'm glad I didn't shell out for Ultimate. I thought about it. I really did. And, honestly, DreamScene is something I really want. But even it's not working yet.

I really haven't had any problems with Vista. I'm dual booting with XP Pro, but I almost never go to XP anymore. I own a mapping/drawing utility that doesn't work well with Vista, and my billion year-old scanner doesn't work (although that's actually a case of the SCSI-to-USB converter not working), but that's it.

Overall I have to say I'm pleased with the Vista experience. My NVIDIA drivers aren't yet up to snuff, but I can go back to XP when I want to play F.E.A.R. or something. I haven't tried it on Vista. But I've played Oblivion on Vista and it worked fine. Maybe some slowdown, but still very playable.

I wouldn't recommend the upgrade to anyone until their XP system comes up short on some new hardware/software, or until they buy a new system.

No comments: